Alberta's Younger Years


Lets start with my “real” younger years. Believe it or not, I was a twin. My brother came into the world before me..twenty minutes?
His name was Albert, named after our father. I was not expected since sonograms were not developed at that time. Yes, it was LONG ago. So, they added an “a” at the end of Albert and I became the famous “Alberta.”

I’m the one with the stylish hat. I still love to dress up and look my best. I try to get woman to wear hats in church. I am told I still look stylish… even though I’m the only one.

I'm the stylish one with the hat.

Here is Albert sitting peacefully on top of me. He always wanted to win at everything. There’s the hat again. It must have brought me attention wearing one and Albert was trying to take my fame away.

Here we are in our playpen. Do any of you remember them? I’m on the left watching Albert probably getting attention from Mom. In those days, parents must have blessed those corrals. Can’t imagine running after two small babies going in two different directions from curiosity outside our enclosed area.

Here I am again on the right pouting while Albert is smiling. I probably got yelled at for something he did.

Look at the “old” carriage in the background. Wow, that was a long time ago.

Alberta Sequeira

Email: alberta.sequeira@gmail.com

Published by albertasequeira

I'm an Awareness Coach, author, professional speaker and instructor. My memoirs are A Sample of Heaven; Our Last Call (looking for a publisher). Someone Stop This Merry-Go-Round: An Alcoholic Family in Crisis; its sequel, Please, God, Not Two; This Killer Called Alcoholism. My Narrative Non-Fiction The Mindset of an Alcoholic and Addict: 34 Americans and Canadian Share Their Struggle with Alcohol and Drugs. Looking for a publisher The Rusty Years; The Remembrance of Being Young and it's sequel The Rusty Years: Secrets Revealed. A Sample of Heaven won the Reviewers Choice Award 2008 Semi-Finalist by Reader Views of Austin Texas. Someone Stop This Merry-Go-Round was nominated for the Editor's Choice Award for 2009 by Allbook Review of Canada and was nominated for the Dan Poynter's Global eBook Award 2011. Please, God, Not Two was nominated for the Editor's Choice Award for 2010 by Allbook Review of Canada and featured in the December 20, 2010 Publishers Weekly. My new Narrative Non-Fiction (searching for a publisher) The Mindset of an Alcoholic and Addict had been written by 34 addicts from the USA and Canada. It is a testimony on what they believe is not working in their recovery programs. It's a book for all; the substance abusers, doctors, counselor and family members. I speak to the public and private organizations on "The Effect of Alcoholism on the Whole Family" since I lost a husband and daughter from this disease. I'm a producer, director, and co-host to NBTV-95 cable TV show from New Bedford. I teach three writer's workshops.